Town of Van Buren

Van Buren, part of the St. John Valley Cultural Byway, is surrounded by the vast, rolling hills of the St. John Valley in Aroostook County, Maine’s largest, northernmost county. Although named for President Martin Van Buren, the town was settled in 1785 by Acadian exiles from Nova Scotia. It was originally part of a town called Grande-Rivière, which was divided by an international border in 1842 and today is two communities – Van Buren and St. Leonard, in New Brunswick, Canada. Most people still speak French at home to this day. 

Hours & Contact Information

Office Hours: Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Office Telephone: 207-868-2886 | Fax: 207-868-2222
Mailing Address: 320 Main Street | Suite 101 | Van Buren, ME 04785
Social Media:
Town Manager: Luke R Dyer |
Town Clerk: Jessica Cyr |
Deputy Clerk: Heather Parent |